What I Plan To Do With This

22 Sep

My first blog was written back in 2001. Like most “blogs” of the time, it was just me vomiting up emotions on a digital diary. (It was called Diaryland… I was fifteen). It wasn’t updated regularly, and its readership consisted of roughly four people in any given month. I would post bad poetry, rants, and general whining (remember, I was fifteen). It was generally everything you imagine it was and worse.

Luckily for you, you don’t need to worry about that. This isn’t really about how I feel, it’s about how a think. I promise never to post a bad love poem (unless it’s for comedic effect), and I promise not to post thoughts that are COMPLETELY inane.

This blog is me writing. On a schedule. For an audience. When you want to write for a career, that’s an important ability to have. Practice makes perfect, so I’m going to practice. Regularly. My word limit for myself is fifteen hundred words. That’s a lot of words, to be honest, but I promise I’ll run into it when I’m writing about something I’m passionate about. (For instance we’re at one hundred and ninety five words now).

Topics are going to be varied. I thought about limiting them, then I realized that three times a week is an awful lot to talk about anything, let alone ONE thing. So my posts will be varied. Some things will be amusing. Some will be educational. Hopefully they will all be worthwhile.

So read. Share. And please, enjoy.


“You can approach the act of writing with nervousness, excitement, hopefulness, or even despair – the sense that you can never completely put on the page what’s in your mind and heart. You can come to the act with your fists clenched and your eyes narrowed, ready to kick ass and take down names. You can come to it because you want a girl to marry you or because you want to change the world. Come to it any way but lightly..”

Stephen King, On Writing

One Response to “What I Plan To Do With This”

  1. Posky September 22, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    I really like Stephen King but he comes from the second camp of writers. He’s a good writer that writes regularly but isn’t the tortured soul that blows his brains out, becomes a hermit or writes for six years only to decide that it was time they retired from it forever.

    For some people, writing is a gift that requires nurturing and discipline. For the rest of us, it’s a curse that requires regular attention.

    I am looking forward to your posts.

Leave a Reply

